Miss A Columnist

Katherine Long covers the intersection between art and tech for MissA's stylish and tech-savvy readers. She is the founder of Illustria Books, an art agency specializing in children's illustrations, and Illustria Designs, a graphic design timeshare service for SMBs. She graduated from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania in December 2012 and is now based out of Bethesda, MD. Her work has appeared in Seventeen, Teen Vogue, Rolling Stone, REDBOOK, and Women's Wear Daily.

Recap: 2013 Tewaaraton Awards For College Lacrosse

Katie Schwarzmann

Katie Schwarzmann of Maryland in action, Winner of 2013 Women’s Tewaaraton Award.

Last night, The Tewaaraton Foundation held their annual Tewaaraton Awards for college lacrosse at the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian. Cornell University attackman Rob Pannell and University of Maryland midfielder Katie Schwarzmann were the 2013 award winners. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

Pannell completed one of the most decorated careers in college lacrosse, scoring a career best 102 points to finish as the all time leading scorer in NCAA history (354 points). He ranked third in the nation in points (5.67) and assists (3.06) per game, and registered at least one point in all 72 career games. A senior from Smithtown, N.Y., and a 2011 Tewaaraton finalist, Pannell earned a record third Ivy League Player of the Year and fourth first team All Ivy selection. Pannell joins Max Seibald (2009) as Cornell’s second men’s Tewaaraton Award winner. He is the second Ivy League representative and eighth attackman to win the men’s Tewaaraton Award. His 102 points this season are the most ever for a Tewaaraton Award winner.


Rob Pannell of Cornell, Winner of 2013 Men’s Tewaaraton Award signing autographs. (Photo Credit: Joseph Allen Images)

“It’s great to be here. Lacrosse means everything to me and I really enjoy giving back to the community. I went to Uganda last year through Fields of Growth to build a school and teach the children there lacrosse. They’re going to play in the world games next year,” said Rob Pannell.

Reigning Tewaaraton Award winner Katie Schwarzmann gave a marvelous encore in her senior season, earning first team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All America honors for a third consecutive year in addition to her second consecutive ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Tournament Most Outstanding Player selections. The four time AllACC midfielder from Sykesville, Md. continued her run as the nation’s premier two way midfielder, leading Maryland in ground balls and ranking second on the team in goals, assists and points.

Kara Cannizzaro signing autograph

Tewaaraton Award finalist, Kara Cannizzaro of UNC signing autograph for fans. (Photo Credit: Joseph Allen Images)

“It’s my third time here. I love lacrosse, it has been a way for me to meet my best friends. I give back by teaching summer lacrosse camps for children through the university,” said Katie Schwarzmann.

“We are excited to recognize Rob and Katie, who completed two of the more remarkable careers in college lacrosse history this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “It was a joy to watch all 10 of our finalists compete, and we congratulate them all on an outstanding season.”


(Photo Credit: Joseph Allen Images)

The five men’s finalists were Pannell, University of North Carolina attackman Marcus Holman, Syracuse University midfielder JoJo Marasco, Princeton University midfielder Tom Schreiber and University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson. The five women’s finalists were Schwarzmann, University of Maryland attacker Alex Aust, University of North Carolina midfielder Kara Cannizzaro, University of Florida goalie Mikey Meagher and Syracuse University attacker Alyssa Murray.

Chris Manning

Christopher Manning (Photo Credit: Yolanda Faulkner)

Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents scholarships to two students of Iroquois descent.

Christopher Manning, Founding Partner of Manning Sossamon and Vice President of the University Club, said, “The University Club founded the Tewaarton Award in 2001 as an extension of our mission. We were founded in 1904 in order to promote excellence in academics and athletics. We are pleased to not only recognize the on-the-field accomplishments but also the outstanding character these student-athletes have.”

See more photos at Joseph Allen Images. Please follow Tewaaraton Foundation on The Tewaaraton Foundation Facebook Page and follow them on Twitter @Tewaaraton.



Related Articles:

Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: 190: Error validating application. Application has been deleted. (190) thrown in /home/askmissa/public_html/wp-content/plugins/seo-facebook-comments/facebook/base_facebook.php on line 1273